Pre-AP English 10

​Pre-AP English 10 Class Summary

Resources:

Writing rubrics:
Literary Analysis
Argumentative Essay
Narrative

"Perfect Paragraph" prewrite/web



WEEK OF 10/9/17

Monday, October 9, 2017

Summary:

Timed write: “Story of an Hour”

Handouts: Story and prompt

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Summary:

Debrief timed write

New latin roots for 10/20 quiz: alt, brev, cap, don, flect, grat, loc, merge, not, onym

Check out Something Wicked this Way Comes

Assign SWTWC reading and vocabulary

Handouts: SWTWC reading bookmarks, SWTWC vocabulary words; SWTWC vocab templates

HW: Read SWTWC, ch 1-9 by 10/12. Vocab charts for Part 1 due 10/19; Vocab quiz 10/26

 

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Summary:

Discuss “Story of an Hour” timed writes and revisions

Handouts: Scored Timed Writes

HW: Revised "Story of an Hour" essays due Wed 10/18

 

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Summary:

SWTWC Reading Quiz, ch 1-9

SWTWC Archetypes

Handouts: SWTWC quizzes, Archetypes chart

HW: SWTWC ch 10-18 due 10/16

 

Friday, October 13, 2017

Summary:

Groupwork: SWTWC Character questions

Handouts: Character Questions       

HW: Revised “Story of an Hour” Essay due Wed 10/18; vocab due 10/19

 



*********************************
 
WEEK OF 10/2/17

Monday, October 2, 2017

Summary:

Pass out Impact Aid Forms

Self-score “School Metaphor” paper

Review lit terms and take notes on Irony

Begin reading “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber”

Handouts: Impact Aid Forms; story

HW: Latin Root Quiz #2 Friday

 

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Summary:

Review student clichés in School Metaphor paper

Continue reading “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber”

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Summary:

Finish reading “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber” and discuss

Read “I hear America Singing”

Analyze “I, Too”

Handouts: “I, Too” Analysis

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Summary:

Kahoot Latin Roots

Discuss “I, Too”

Write paragraph for “I, Too”

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, October 6, 2017

Summary:

Latin roots quiz #2

Symbolism in “Death and the Miser”

Handouts: Questions

HW: None


*******************************

WEEK OF 9/25/17

Monday, September 25, 2017

Summary:

Assign Latin Roots for 10/6 quiz (agr, bio, cam, doc, fer, grad, hosp, junct, lat, mem)

Peer review School Metaphor paper

Handouts: Peer revision sheets

HW: Final drafts due Wed, 9/27

 

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Summary:

Analyze “Blackberry Picking” poem for imagery and meaning

Handouts: Poem

HW: None

 

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 

Summary:

Turn in final draft of School Metaphor paper

Finish “Blackberry Picking” analysis

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Summary:

Review symbolism

Read and annotate Poe’s “The Pit and the Pendulum”

Handouts: Story

HW: None

 

Friday, September 29, 2017

Summary:

Discuss “The Pit and the Pendulum”

Turn in annotation

Handouts: None

HW: None



******************************* 


WEEK OF 9/18/17


Monday, September 18, 2017

Summary:

Self-score “Why I Write” based on rubric

Set up writing folder and skill tracking sheet

Brainstorm details and traits of metaphor for “School is…” metaphor paper

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Summary:

Solidify metaphor choice and brainstorm connections to feelings about school

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Summary:

Organize and pre-write “School is” metaphor paper

HandoutsEssay rubric

HW: None

 

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Summary:

Computer Lab: Begin writing “School is” metaphor paper

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, September 22, 2017

Summary:

Computer Lab: Finish metaphor paper

Handouts: None

HW: Finish essay at home if not done in class; bring to class Monday 9/25


********************************* 

WEEK OF 9/11/17

Monday, September 11, 2017

Summary:

Review “perfect paragraph” web and structure

Review literary analysis rubric

Read “Why I Write” prompt and essay

Brainstorm (quality) books and determine if they are political or not

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Summary:

Write response to “Why I Write” prompt

Handouts: None

HW: None


Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Summary:

Poem analysis: “The Writer”

Groupwork: Answer analysis questions

Handouts: Poem/questions

HW: None

 

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Summary:

Writing journal questions

Writing-as-metaphor poster

Handouts: Journal questions

HW: None

 

Friday, September 15, 2017

Summary:

Finish writing-as-metaphor project

Introduce “School is…” metaphor essay assignment

Handouts: Assignment description

HW: None 

 

***************************************
 
WEEK OF 9/6/17

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Summary:

Introduction to class expectations and procedures

Listening challenge

Handouts: Syllabus, Potty Passes

HW: None

 

Thursday, September 9, 2017

Summary:

Literary Devices Review and Practice

“Written conversations” about author’s purpose for using literary devices

Handouts: Literary Devices Chart

HW: None

 

Friday, September 10, 2017

Summary:

Pick up textbooks from Library

Groupwork: Perfect “written conversation” statements

Present statements

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

 

 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.