Pre-AP English 10

​Pre-AP English 10 Class Summary

Resources:

Writing rubrics:
Literary Analysis
Argumentative Essay
Narrative

"Perfect Paragraph" prewrite/web


SEMESTER 2


************************************

WEEK OF 5/28/18

Monday, May 28, 2018

No school – Memorial Day

 

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Summary:

Perform dramatic readings

Read/watch Hamlet, Act IV, scenes 5-6

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Summary:

Perform remaining dramatic readings

Analyze Ophelia’s flower speech

Kahoot Vocab for Friday’s quiz on Acts 4-5

Handouts: Ophelia’s Flowers chart

HW: None

 

Thursday, May 31, 2018

Summary:

Kahoot Vocab for Friday’s quiz on Acts 4 & 5

Read/watch Hamlet, Act IV, Scene 7

Character Committee work

Handouts: None

HW: Study for Friday’s vocab quiz

 

Friday, June 1, 2018

Summary:

Vocab quiz – Hamlet, Acts 4-5

False faces worksheet

Handouts: False faces wkst

HW: None



**********************************

WEEK OF 5/21/18

Monday, May 21, 2018

Summary:

Hamlet vocabulary words for Acts 4 & 5

Find motif-related quotes from Act 3, scene 3 for quote log

Handouts: None

HW: None

  

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Summary:

Read/watch Act 3, scene 4 and Act 4, scenes 1-3

Find motif-related quotes for quote log

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Summary:

Read/watch Act 4, scene 4

Translate “Quarrel in a Straw” soliloquy

Find motif-related quotes for quote log

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, May 24, 2018

Summary:

Assign Hamlet dramatic reading

Choose partners and scenes and begin work

Handouts: DR assignment description

HW: None

 

Friday, May 25, 2018

Summary:

Prepare written element of dramatic reading

Practice with partner for dramatic reading for presentation Tuesday

Handouts: None

HW: None


**************************************

WEEK OF 5/14/18


Monday, May 14, 2018

Summary:

Kahoot vocab for Acts 2 & 3 – Quiz Friday

Assign “To Be or Not to Be” emulation

Handouts: Emulation assignment

HW: None

 

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Summary:

Finish emulation

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Summary:

Read/watch end of Act III.1 and III.2

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Summary:

III.2 Literary devices

Handouts: Worksheet

HW: Vocab quiz Friday

  

Friday, May 18, 2018

Summary:

Vocab quiz – Acts 2&3

Read/watch Act III.3-III.4

Handouts: None

HW: None


**************************************

WEEK OF 5/7/18

Monday, May 7, 2018

Summary:

Kahoot – Vocab quiz Friday

“Ambiguity in Hamlet” article

Read/watch Hamlet, Act 2.1-2,2

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern stick figure wkst

“Rogue and peasant slave…” soliloquy – if/then statements

Handouts: Article; stick figure wksts

HW: Vocab test for Act 1 vocab moved to 5/11

 

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Summary:

Start Character Connection Chart

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Summary:

Finish Character Connection chart

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words for Act 1

Read/watch Act 3.1 through end of “To Be or Not to Be”

Start “To Be or Not to Be” translation

Handouts: “To Be or Not to Be” translation

HW: Vocab quiz Friday

 

Friday, May 11, 2018

 Summary:

Vocab quiz – Act 1

Finish “To Be or Not to Be” translation

Handouts: None

HW: None


***************************************

WEEK OF 4/30/18

Monday, April 30, 2018

Summary:

Complete Hamlet Logs 1 & 2

Handouts: None

HW: Vocab test for Act 1 vocab moved to 5/11

 

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Summary:

Read/watch Hamlet, Act I.3

Translate Polonius’s speech

Introduce Quote Log

Handouts: Quote Log

HW: None

 

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Summary:

Add to Quote Log

Read/watch Hamlet, Act I.4-I.5

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Summary:

Complete Hamlet Log 3

Assign character committees and complete questions in Log

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, May 4, 2018

Summary:

New vocabulary words: Acts 2 & 3

Handouts: None

HW: None



********************************

 WEEK OF 3/26/18

Monday, March 26, 2018

Summary:

Finish 1984 Collaborative Paragraphs

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Summary:

Pre-write 1984 AP Prompt

Handouts: Prompt

HW: None

 

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Summary:

Write 1984 Timed Write

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Summary:

Introduce 2018 Law Day Essay prompt

Handouts: Essay prompt

HW: None

 

Friday, March 30, 2018 – No school: conferences


*********************************

WEEK OF 3/19/18

Monday, March 19, 2018

Summary:

Reading Quiz: 1984, 2.10-3.3

Write quiz question based on 2.9

Handouts: Quiz

HW: Finish reading 1984, Critical Thinking Journal due Wednesday; finish 2.9 Annotation if not done in class

 

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Summary:

Reading Quiz: 1984, 3.4-end

Workday: journals, annotations

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Summary:

1984 Unit Exam

Introduce/ assign 1984 Collaborative Outline

Handouts: 1984 Collaborative Outline Group assignment

HW: Study for Friday’s vocab test on 1984, Part 3

 

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Summary:

Work on 1984 Collaborative Outline

Handouts: None

HW: Study for Friday’s vocab test on 1984, Part 3

 

Friday, March 23, 2018

Summary:

1984 Vocab Quiz (part 3)

1984 Collaborative Outline

Handouts: None

HW: Finish 1984 Collaborative Outline if not done in class



*****************************************

WEEK OF 3/12/18

Monday, March 12, 2018

Summary:

Read and annotate 1984, 2.9

Handouts: Chapter 2.9 for annotation

HW: None

 

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Summary:

Read and annotate 1984, 2.9

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Summary:

1984 Vocabulary words for Part 3

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 2.10

 

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Summary:

Read and annotate 1984, 2.9

Kahoot Part 2 words for Friday’s test

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 3.1-3.2

 

Friday, March 15, 2018

Summary:

1984 Vocab Quiz (part 2)

Read and annotate 1984, 2.9

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 3.3-3.4



*********************************

WEEK OF 3/5/18

Monday, March 5, 2018

Summary:

Finish and present 1984 Symbol Poster

Kahoot 1984 vocab words (part 1) for Friday’s test

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 2.2-2.3

 

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Summary:

Registration for next year’s classes

Mac 1984 ad

John Green “Crash Course” video on 1984

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 2.4-2.5

 

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Summary:

1984 Vocabulary words for Part 2

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 2.6-2.7

 

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Summary:

1984 Reading Quiz, 2.1-2.7

Finish vocab words for Part 2

Kahoot Part 1 words for Friday’s test

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 2.8; Study Part 1 Vocab for tomorrow’s test

 

Friday, March 9, 2018

Summary:

1984 Vocab Quiz (part 1)

Handouts: Assignment description

HW: Read 1984, 2.1

 *****************************************

WEEK OF 2/26/18

Monday, February 26, 2018

Summary:

1984 reading quiz (1.1-1.2)

Traits of dystopia handout

Orwell Connections handout

Read 1984, 1.3-1.4

Handouts: quiz; worksheets

HW: Read 1984, 1.3-1.4

 

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Summary:

Discuss 1984 (names, setting, Newspeak, misogyny)

Vocabulary words (Part 1) – Quiz 3/9

Handouts: Vocabulary templates

HW: Read 1984, 1.5

 

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Summary:

1984 Reading Quiz (1.3-1.5)

Finish remaining Part 1 vocab words

Read 1984, 1.6-1.7

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 1.6-1.7

 

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Summary:

Discuss reading

Agree/Disagree: debating thematic issues

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 1.8

 

Friday, March 2, 2018

Summary:

1984 Reading Quiz (1.6-1.8)

1984 Symbolism – group poster

Handouts: Assignment description

HW: Read 1984, 2.1



***************************************

WEEK OF 2/19/18

Monday, February 19, 2018 & Tuesday, February 20, 2018 – no school

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Summary:

Animal Farm reading quiz

Discuss Animal Farm

Handouts: None

HW: None

 
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - Snow day - No school

Friday, February 23, 2018

Summary:

Check out 1984

Discuss background of 1984

Assign reading schedule and critical thinking journal

Handouts: None

HW: Read 1984, 1.1-1.2



**********************************

WEEK OF 2/12/18

Monday, February 12, 2018

Summary:

Haroun Reading Quiz

Haroun Hero’s Journey

Handouts: quiz

HW: None

 

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Summary:

Haroun Hero’s Journey posters

Haroun Allusions

Haroun theme discussion

Handouts: Allusions

HW: None

 

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Summary:

Rewrite Persepolis essay thematic statement to include WHY characters/humans behave the way they do

Rewrite first sentences of Persepolis body paragraphs as supporting claims (what you will prove in paragraph)

Write thematic statement for Haroun, including WHY characters/humans behave the way they do

Write 2 supporting claim statements to support the theme

Handouts: None

HW: Finish and turn in tomorrow

 

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Summary:

Check out Animal Farm

Powerpoint: Quick history lesson of Russian Revolution

Handouts: None

HW: Read Animal Farm for Wednesday 2/21 class

 

Friday, February 16, 2018

Summary:

Counselors: Registration materials

Handouts: See Counseling Office

HW: Finish Animal Farm before Wednesday’s class



*************************************

WEEK OF 2/5/18

Monday, February 5, 2018

Summary:

Listening skills development: Notetaking on first two chapters of Haroun & the Sea of Stories

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Summary:

Check out Haroun & the Sea of Stories – finish book by Monday, Feb 12

Research assigned topics in library

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Summary:

Share research with same topic researchers

Synthesize info and create informational poster

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Summary:

Finish poster

Present poster to class – Notetaking

Read in class

Handouts: None

HW: Reading due Monday, 2/12; Latin roots quiz Friday

 

Friday, February 9, 2018

Summary:

Latin Roots Quiz

Intro to 1001 Arabian Nights

Read “The Fisherman and the Jinnie,” p 548 in anthology

Watch “Our Friend the Atom” for allusion

Handouts: None

HW: Finish reading novel by Monday

**********************************

WEEK OF 1/29/18

Monday, January 29, 2018

Summary:

Computer Lab: revise Persepolis essays

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Summary:

Assign graphic story (3 pages in panels)

Brainstorm/storyboard plot

Handouts: Assortment of panels

HW: None

 

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Summary:

Begin graphic story

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, February 1, 2018

Summary:

Finish graphic story

Handouts: None

HW: Finish if not done in class

 

Friday, February 2, 2018 - no school




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.