English 10

Odyssey Unit Test link: https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=eVDwjo0Z-0-IAeMW8CPcjWwkSykyWi1InW22lP9CP2tURjIwQVFZTURaUlpBWUdZOEpXUjZDVk5WSC4u


Odyssey
Group Project Assignment Description



The Odyssey in Spanish:
 http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/departamentodeletras/images/a/a9/La_Odisea_-_Homero.pdf/revision/latest?cb=20090724164351&path-prefix=es

Writing Rubric

Paragraph Pre-writing Format (Web)

"The Cold Equations" text

"Distillation" text

English 10 Class Summary

 

Week of 10/28/19 – English 10

 

Monday, October 28, 2019

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words (Bk 9-end) – Quiz Friday

Begin table-group project on Books 10-12

Handouts: Vocab Template

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 29 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wed, October 30 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words

Finish projects and present

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 31

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words

Finish presentations

Powerpoint on end of book

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, November 1

Summary:

Vocabulary Quiz

Finish Odyssey packet

Handouts: None

HW: Finish Odyssey packet if not done in class

 

Week of 10/21/19 – English 10

Monday, October 21, 2019

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words (Bk 3-8) – Quiz Thursday

Perform “trash-talk” scripts

Vocabulary Words, Books 9-end

Handouts: Vocab Template

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 22 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wed, October 23 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words

(Finish vocab words, Bk 9-end: Periods 1, 6)

Read Book 9 about Cyclops

Answer Book 9 questions in packet

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 24

Summary:

Vocab Quiz, Books 3-8

Review Ch 9 questions

Assign group projects

Handouts: None

HW: None

Friday, October 25 – No school: conferences



Week of 10/14/19 – English 10

 

Monday, October 14

Summary:

Vocabulary Words, Books 3-8

Handouts: Vocab Template

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 15 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wed, October 16 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Kahoot

Read Book III, lines 110-255 and complete close reading exercise.

Read Book IV, lines 100-195 and find 2 things Menelaos says about Odysseus.

Read Book IV, lines 722-901 and find 3 epithets (one about Odysseus) and 2 things Penelope says about Odysseus

Handouts: Close reading worksheet

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 17

Summary:

Read Book V (1-202, 292-363)

Write 17-word summary and share with class

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, October 18

Summary:

Read book VI (123-224, 266-351)

Read Book VIII (141-224, 533-625)

Write trash talk script and perform

Handouts: None

HW: None

Week of 10/7/19 – English 10

 

Monday, October 7

Summary:

Kahoot vocab words – vocab quiz Friday

Read Odyssey, Book 1, lines 300-350

Close reading: Identify 4 steps of Athena’s plan

Reading Packet: epithets, appearance, what others say, xenos

Handouts: Odyssey Reading packet

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 8 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wednesday, October 9 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Kahoot – vocab test Friday

Homer’s Technique powerpoint

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 10

Summary:

Read Book 2 (1-165, 217-253)

Write 4-person script

Handouts:

HW: None

 

Friday, October 11

Summary:

Vocabulary Quiz, Books 1-2

Finish and perform 4-person script

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Week of 9/30/19 – English 10

 

Monday, September 30

Summary:

Finish Finding Nemo

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Tuesday, October 1 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wednesday, October 2 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Return “Distillation” essays and track scores

Trojan War and Odyssey powerpoint

Agree/disagree: Heroes

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, October 3

Summary:

Storytelling article

Vocabulary, Books 1-2 (9 words)

Handouts: Vocabulary template

HW: None

 

Friday, October 4

Summary:

Odyssey, Book 1, lines 1-5: The Invocation

Epic Poetry Powerpoint

Write “Invocation for an A”

Handouts: None

HW: None

Week of 9/23/19 – English 10

  

Monday, Sept 23

Summary:

Per 1 – Computer lab: finish essay

Per 4 & 6 – Peer review “Distillation” essay

Handouts: None

HW: If not done with essay in class, finish at home

 

Tuesday, Sept 24 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wednesday, Sept 25 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Per 1 – Peer review; revise essay in computer lab

Per 4&6 – Revise essay in computer lab; grammar review

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, Sept 26

Summary:

Hero’s Journey Notes

Start movie: Finding Nemo

Handouts: Hero’s Journey Chart

HW: None

 

Friday, Sept 27

Summary:

Watch Finding Nemo

Handouts: None

HW: None

Week of 9/16/19 – English 10



Monday, Sept 16

Summary:

Per 1 – Read “Distillation” and take notes

Per 4 & 6 – “Distillation” quiz

Discuss final image in story

Compare “Distillation” notes in groups

Essay Prompt prewrite (3 webs): The author uses indirect characterization to create a father who is ___________________.

Handouts: Perfect Paragraph format and rubric (Per 1)

HW: None

Tuesday, Sept 17 – BLOCK (PER 1, 3, 5) / Wednesday, Sept 18 – BLOCK (PER 2, 4, 6)

Summary:

Per 1 – Finish “Distillation”; “Distillation” quiz

Per 4 & 6 – Prewrite essay

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, Sept 19

Summary:

Per 1 – Prewrite essay

Per 4 & 6 – Computer Lab to write essay

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Friday, Sept 20

Summary:

Computer lab – write essay

Handouts: None

HW: Per 4 & 6 – finish essay if not done in class and bring in Monday

 

Week of 9/9/19 – English 10

 

Monday, Sept 9

Summary:

Period 1: Introduction and syllabus review, Perfect paragraph lesson, Start movie paragraph

Periods 4 & 6:

Review plot diagram and theme

Start reading “The Cold Equations”

Handouts: Perfect Paragraph format and rubric (Per 1)

HW: None

 

Tuesday, Sept 10

Summary:

Per 1: finish movie paragraph, review plot and theme, start “The Cold Equations”

Finish reading “The Cold Equations”

Handouts: None

HW: Finish movie paragraph if not done in class (Per 1)

 

Wednesday, Sept 11

Summary:

Period 1: Read “The Cold Equations”

Period 4: Start CE paragraph, review quiz

Period 6: Create writing folders and score tracking, review quiz, finish paragraph

Handouts: Per 6 – folders, skill score tracking sheet

HW: Per 4&6 – Finish paragraph if not done in class

 

Thursday, Sept 12

Summary:

Per 1: Finish reading CE, take quiz, start paragraph

Per 4&6: Discuss CE theme, minilesson on characterization, begin “Distillation”

Handouts: None

HW: Per 1 – finish reading story if not done in class

 

Friday, Sept 13

Summary:

Read “Distillation” and find indirect characterization quotes

Handouts: None

HW: Finish reading and quote collecting if not done in class

 

Week of 9/4/19 – English 10

Wednesday, Sept 4

Summary:

Introduction and syllabus review

Handouts: None

HW: None

 

Thursday, Sept 5

Summary:

Perfect Paragraph lesson

Practice web and paragraph: Favorite movie

Handouts: Perfect Paragraph format and rubric

HW: Finish movie paragraph if not done in class

 

Friday, Sept 6

Summary:

Web and write Perfect Paragraph: Personal Hero

Textbook checkout

Handouts: None

HW: Finish Personal Hero paragraph if not done in class and turn in for credit