Special Message to the Class of 2020 Seniors

Special Message to the Class of 2020 Seniors
Posted on 03/26/2020
Special Message to the Class of 2020 Seniors


March 26, 2020
 

 

Dear Seniors and Senior Families, 

  

I anticipate that when you thought about your senior year, you had not envisioned a global pandemic arising and the shutdown of schools and society. I realize this is a very difficult time for everyone, but especially so for our Class of 2020.  While we are hopeful that we will have a chance to come back together at the end of April and finish out the year as normal, I know there are a lot of questions out there about what will happen if we do not come back.
  
 

Prom, senior celebrations, and graduation are important rites of passage that seniors and their families look forward to for many years. We are hopeful that these things will happen, and they are still scheduled on our school calendars.  Please know that we are also discussing potential alternatives for our traditional plans and dates if the orders to “stay home, stay healthy” stretch beyond the currently published timeline.  Rest assured, we WILL have a plan to recognize and celebrate each of the wonderful seniors we have here in the North Kitsap School District.  

Our priority right now is to ensure our seniors have completed all of the requirements to graduate. Our staff are contacting all families to outline how each senior can actively work on meeting graduation requirements. At this point in time, we are focused on seniors completing their High School and Beyond Plans (HSB)—a critical requirement for graduation. If you are a senior and you have not completed this, please talk with your counselor or principal to develop a plan to do so as soon as possible. It is important for seniors to work with their counselor and their teachers to ensure they remain on track for graduation. Staff contact information is located on each high school’s web page and is listed below
 

Furthermore, our district and high school building staff are working hard to create a detailed plan for each senior to ensure they have what they need to meet graduation requirements. More detailed plans for all senior students will be available beginning on April 13 when we return from Spring Break. Seniors need to be attentive and engaged in this work so they can finish out the year strong.
 
 

Teachers have reached out to students to inquire about your access to devices and the internet. If you have not heard from someone, and/or If you need access to a device to complete your required work, please contact your counselor or principal.
 
 

Lastly, we have created a Class of 2020 website just for seniors and their families. It includes the latest information for AP, SAT and ACT, frequently asked questions, and much more.  We will continue to update this site as we learn more.  
 

Our goal is that every senior in the Class of 2020 graduates. We will continue to work hard to communicate requirements and plans, and we will continue to partner with each of you to accomplish this goal. If you or your family could use some assistance in supporting your senior, please don’t hesitate to reach out to your principal or counselor. Their contact information is below. We stand ready to assist you!  

  

In partnership, 
 
 

Dr. Laurynn Evans 

Superintendent  

  

KHS  

PrincipalJack Simonson JSimonson@nkschools.org 

Assistant Principal Melissa Super-Green MSuper-Greene@nkschools.org 

Counselors Devon Rouch, DRouch@nkschools.org  and Lisa Coffman,  LCoffman@nkschools.org 

  

NKHS 

Principal Megan Sawicki MSawicki@nkschools.org 

Assistant Principals Michael Bliss MBliss@nkschools.org and Bob Marshall RMarshall@nkschools.org 

Counselors: Scott Martin SMartin@nkschools.org,  Cessy Adame-Watson CAdame-watson@nkschools.orgMiriam Foley MFoley@nkschools.org, and Karen Fick KFick@nkschools.org.

  

Choice Academy and PAL 

Penny Therrien ptherrien@nkschools.org 

Pat Jensen pjensen@nkschools.org